BAFTA Awards for Doctor Who

May 19, 2009

The BAFTA Cymru and BAFTA Craft Awards were announced last night, with Doctor Who winning a total of six awards.

In the BAFTA Cymru Awards, Euros Lyn won the Best Director Award for Silence in the Library/Forest of the Dead, while Russell T Davies won Best Writer for Midnight. Two other BAFTA Cymru Awards were for Midnight: the sound team recieved the Best Sound Award, while Philip Kloss won in the Best Editor category.

In the BAFTA Craft Awards, Philip Kloss also won an award for his editing of Series Four, while the visual effects team at the Mill picked up the award for visual effects for The Fires of Pompeii.


2009 Hugo Nominations announced

March 20, 2009

The nominees for the 2009 Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form have been announced. Among the nominations are 2008‘s Silence in the Library/Forest of the Dead and Turn Left, by Steven Moffat and Russell T Davies respectively and directed by Euros Lyn and Graeme Harper respectively.

The other nominees are:

  • Lost episode “The Constant”, written by Carlton Cuse and Damon Lindelof, and directed by Jack Bender
  • Battlestar Galactica episode “Revelations”, written by Bradley Thompson and David Weddle, and directed by Micahel Rymer
  • Doctor Horrible’s Sing Along Blog, written by Joss, Zack and Jed Whedon and Maurissa Tancharoen, and directed by Joss Whedon.

The winner will be announced in the summer.