BAFTA Awards for Doctor Who

May 19, 2009

The BAFTA Cymru and BAFTA Craft Awards were announced last night, with Doctor Who winning a total of six awards.

In the BAFTA Cymru Awards, Euros Lyn won the Best Director Award for Silence in the Library/Forest of the Dead, while Russell T Davies won Best Writer for Midnight. Two other BAFTA Cymru Awards were for Midnight: the sound team recieved the Best Sound Award, while Philip Kloss won in the Best Editor category.

In the BAFTA Craft Awards, Philip Kloss also won an award for his editing of Series Four, while the visual effects team at the Mill picked up the award for visual effects for The Fires of Pompeii.


Three BAFTA Craft nominations for Series Four

April 7, 2009

The BAFTA Craft nominees have been announced, and among the nominees are three nominations for Doctor Who. Executive producer and writer Russell T Davies has been nominated in the Writer category for 2008’s companion-light episode Midnight; visual effects team The Mill have been nominated in the Visual Effects category for their work on The Fires of Pompeii; and editor Philip Kloss has been nominated in the Editor Fiction/Entertainment category for his work on Doctor Who in 2008.

The awards ceremony, which will be the tenth since the awards started, will take place on 17 May 2009. The BAFTA Craft Awards celebrate the work of those who work on television and film in a non-acting role.